Charleston in the winter

DSC_2285I was looking to do a quick winter escape along the East coast. I was torn between Sea Island Georgia, and Charleston South Carolina but this time I landed on Charleston due to a recent trip to Savannah and I was not disappointed.

After much research I learned that Charleston has been making a strong name for itself in the culinary world for attracting the world’s top chefs to this small South East coastal city. I was also drawn to to history, and several fine hotels in the downtown area which much to offer as well as the culinary experiences, and old world charm Charleston is known for. I was given the idea to try two different hotels for my entire trip which turned out to be one of the more enjoyable aspects of the journey.

The first hotel I stayed at was Belmond Charleston place, a beautiful 5 star hotel nestled in the city center, tightly woven into the array of nearby shops and restaurants. I found the lobby and room to be elegant with the type of attention to detail one would expect from a Ritz-Carlton. I enjoyed quick strolls down King street which had luxury and boutique shops all over.

After a day of exploring the collection of shops, old sights, and soaking up the picturesque waterfront views, I have worked up an appetite and was ready to indulge on the main reason why I came here; The dining! I had booked a table at the ever so popular local favorite, FIG. It was recommended to book a reservation a month ahead of time, that’s how popular this place is. The food and drinks were phenomenal, and I truly understand the allure of this restaurant.

The remainder of my trip was spent at the Zero George Street Boutique hotel, a 5 star, small sized hotel with 5 star plus accommodations that I found to be unparalleled by most any other hotel or resort I’ve ever stayed at. The restaurant inside the hotel, Zero is clearly gunning for a Michelin Star with superb service and quality cuisine. The hotel itself offered a more intimate array of services, one that you would expect for a boutique luxury hotel. Staying here was easily the highlight of my trip but it still wasn’t over.

DSC_2355

The evening of checking into Zero George, I dined at local staple, Husk. Another popular spot known for its southern food specialty, also did not disappoint. Advanced reservations are also recommended for this hot spot, as I found this beautiful converted home to business establishment to fill up with locals and tourists alike, very quickly.

The following days of my trip were spent exploring the old world charm of this old and gorgeous city. I enjoyed just walking along to the cobblestone streets and taking snaps of the 300 year old buildings or quietly observing the graves of those perished in the 1700s. After an enjoyable tour or two my time in Charleston was over but easily remembered as one of the best winter trips I’ve taken. I look forward to returning to Charleston in the near future and savoring the old world charm again.

 

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑